Cannoli-oli-o

As if we didn’t eat enough desert in Boston… it was totally necessary to take a trip to what Leslie calls the “Tiffany’s of Pastry.”   In Boston, small white boxes with bright blue writing and thin, matching blue braided rope bows, labeled “Mike’s Pastry,” are apparently just as iconic as Tiffany’s little blue (teal) box.  I think this is for good reason.

When I was young, I mean young enough that I can’t clearly remember being able to read books on my own, my Mom took my brother and I to bookstore regularly–for desert.  I wish I could say we were supporting a local coffee shop and book store but no, for whatever reason we preffered Barnes and Noble.  The craving code word in the car was “cannoli-oli-o.”  Once, my mother stepped up to the counter to order our  brain snack (we were doing at least some looking at books!) and accidentally said to the sales person, “may we have three cannoli-oli-os,” with a completely straight face.  It took her a second to realize what had happened.  I’m still not sure why were were so obsessed with the “oli-os.” I must admit that I’ve had a B&A cannoli in relatively more recent memory and found it cold, soggy in the middle of the pastry, cardboard at the edges of the pastry.  Maybe they’ve gone downhill?

Either way, my mom’s little afternoon snack ritual is wholly (or maybe partially?) responsible for two personality defining loves: books and chocolate chip cannoli.  Once again Leslie proves herself a kindred spirit, providing chocolate chips in their two best filling rolls, cookies and ricotta cream stuffed pastry. Wow. Did anyone notice there is also cheese involved in a cannoli? No more comment necessary.

At Mike’s there is a daily ‘special’ selection added to a list of ‘classic’ cannoli–plain ricotta, lemon cream, chocolate dipped, chocolate ricotta, chocolate chip ricotta, florentine… at this point I had to take deep breaths because I was getting overheated with excitement.  After much discussion everyone picked their cannoli-match-made-in-heaven.  Except Alicia and I, who can never officially settle on food choices until we agree to swap bites.   How else will you know if the ricotta is tastier on the other side, the amaretto almond covered side?

Avery’s soul-cannoli wasn’t messing around, but sort of was: double chocolate is a serious commitment, but how can it totally scare you off with those adorable mini chocolate chips and unapologetic youthful sweetness?

Leslie’s soul-cannoli might be mislabeled “traditional,” when really it has simple perfection that makes it ever-enduring, loyal, constant, with a tiny twist: classic ricotta cannoli in it’s little black dress of chocolate chips on the ends.

Sarah, a cannoli newcomer opted for the completely classic safe-guy: ricotta filling.  I’m happy to announce I think she might be ready for more jazz the next time around.

Alicia chose the very sweet, rare, quirky (or even nutty?), cannoli special of the day, almond dusted amaretto.  I wanted that one for just a taste, but it turned out as I feared, too sugary for the longterm.  But I loved my chocolate dipped ricotta.  Any thoughts on that?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cannoli-oli-o

  1. Objection: My cannoli was chocolate ricotta with chocolate chips. And it was delicious.

    • jattwood says:

      How could I have made that error? Horrible reporting skills. You USUALLY order the ricotta chocolate chip but you tried something new. Hmm, how shall I rectify this? I also have to think of a new meaning… you’ve gone the direction of strong-willed, but with a youthful, idealist edge. ? happy?

Leave a Reply

